About Governance & Leadership

Governance & Leadership

Board of Directors

NCBIS is a non-selective, non-denominal international school serving Cairo’s international community and is the sole operational activity of the Heliopolis Society for Cultural and Social Care of English Speaking Foreigners (Registration 2643 on Sept 15th 1979) otherwise known as ‘The Society’. The NCBIS operates under the auspices of the Society, which in turn is an independent, non-profit organisation registered with the Ministry of Social Affairs of Egypt.

NCBIS has a Board of Directors made up entirely of NCBIS parents (society members) and ensures a close connection to the school community. Each year at the Annual General Meeting the elections for the Board are normally held and voted upon by the school community*. All parents are welcome to run for election and offer many amazing and useful areas of expertise to help the school continue to improve and grow.

The Board of Directors oversees the strategic direction and financial viability of the school while taking a support role for the Senior Management Group.

  • Lotfy El Badrawy – Board Chair
  • David Gutierrez Machin – Board Vice Chair
  • Mohamed Zaki – Board Treasurer
  • Muwafak Ghazal – Board Secretary
  • Amre Mamdouh
  • Aziz Mansour
  • Hossam Leheta
  • Pakinam Kafafi
  • Yasmine Khamis

The board also have made a number of subcommittees which are:

Academic Committee: Yasmine Khamis, Aziz Mansour, Pakinam Kafafi, Hossam Leheta.

Finance Committee: Lotfy El Badrawy, Mohamed Zaki, David Gutierrez Machin, Hossam Leheta.

Facilities Committee: A. Muwafak Ghazal, David Gutierrez Machin, Aziz Ma nsour.

HR Committee: David Gutierrez Machin, Amre Mamdouh, Yasmine Khamis, A. Muwafak Ghazal.

Compliance Committee: Pakinam Kafafi, Amre Mamdouh, A. Muwafak Ghazal.

Should you wish to contact the Board for any reason, please write to board@ncbis.co.uk or the Chairman on chairman@ncbis.co.uk.

Please note, that it would always be advisable to contact the school first on info@ncbis.co.uk, ask to see the person responsible for the area you are interested in, and as a last resort, contact the Board.

Executive Leadership Team

The Executive Leadership Team oversees the daily operations of the school, from curriculum issues to support functions for the delivery of the curriculum. It is comprised of the Principal, Executive Business Director, Head of Dutch, Head of Primary, Head of Secondary, Finance and Compliance Director, Human Resources Director, Facility Director.

Academic Section
John Bagust

John Bagust

Principal

John.Bagust@ncbis.co.uk

Biography

Heading the Academic Schools

David Mate

David Mate

Head of Secondary

Secondary Leadership Team

david.mate@ncbis.co.uk

Secondary School

Biography
Matt Walsh

Matt Walsh

Head of Primary School

Primary Leadership Team

matt.walsh@ncbis.co.uk

Primary School

Biography
Olga Kes

Olga Kes

Head of Dutch Stream and Teacher Groep 6-7-8 and Dutch to Secondary Students

Dutch Leadership Team

olga.kes@ncbis.co.uk

Dutch School

Biography
Administration Section
Mervat Fahmy

Mervat Fahmy

Executive Business Director

mervat.fahmy@ncbis.co.uk

Administration

Biography

Heading the Support and Administrative Departments

Samiha Zaki

Samiha Zaki

Director of Finance & Compliance

Finance Department

samiha.zaki@ncbis.co.uk

Administration

Biography
Khalil Ali

Khalil Ali

Facility Director

Facility Department

khalil.ali@ncbis.co.uk

Administration

Biography